CUPRO FABRIC: What is that, and how do you clean it?

I just scored a very nice silky pair of trousers at Salvation Army*.  At first glance, I though I had a pair of Versaces, but it turns out the brand is Verse.  All of the fabric/cleaning  info sewn into the pants was in German, so I had to google.

It turns out that cupro is a fancy “silk substitute” like rayon and tencel are designed to be.  It is made from wood fiber and cotton by-products. (I thought I was holding silk, at first, but I recognize the word for silk in most languages, so then I was fearful about cleaning issues)

No worries. I googled cupro fabric, found out what it is, then I googled “cleaning cupro fabric” and found out that it can be washed and dried in washing machines and dryers.  It can also be line-dried, and dry-cleaned.

Hooray! My Salvation Army score is truly a score! I can wash the trousers, and then hang them to dry.

They fit like they were made for me (when I want to wear cropped pants – that’s always an issue at my height, but with the right pair of shoes, they will be nice “ankle” pants.  (I’m wearing them tomorrow!)

*If you are  reading me from outside New York City, Salvation Army is a Christian denomination which has a mission addressed to the homeless, the poor, and those who are marginalized by drug addiction, prison conviction, or mental retardation (as nearly as I can figure it).  The mission to the poor involves accepting tax-deductible donations of clothing and appliances from the public and re-selling them at prices affordable to the poor (today was family day, so the pants I mentioned, priced at $7.99, cost me $4.00.  I also got an Ann Taylor blouse for $1.50, a Gap shirt for $1.50, and a Chico’s Traveler’s shirt jacket for $3.00).  Since I cannot afford to shop at all, today I was able to get in a serious shopping fix for under $10.00, and still have fancy respectable clothes that I can wear to work . ) We are really lucky in New York City, because rich people do not wear their clothes much, and often donate them rather than clean them. (Everything I scored today bore a dry-cleaners’ tag: nice rich donors!)

If you live in another city, you might find GoodWill (they primarily help disabled people) or AmVets (to help American military veterans)

If you live in another country, I am hoping that your country has something similar, because it really is helpful to be able to buy nice clothes when you have little money.


6 responses to “CUPRO FABRIC: What is that, and how do you clean it?

  1. Good for you! I also scored a beautiful trench in cupro fabric from the Goodwill store in Nashville, TN. I thought it was silk at first until I located the tag. My garment is made in the U.K. and is fully lined, almost ankle length. I paid a whopping $5.00 for the coat because it was half-price. I also frequent the Salvation Army and other Thrift stores. I donate as much as I purchase and the rule in our house is whatever you bring in (shoes, coat, pants, etc.), you must get rid of the same article – either by donation, hand-me-down, or pass along. This rule prevents me and my daughter from becoming clothes hoarders!

  2. Thank you for your wealth of information, it has been very helpful. I am from the UK and frequent charity shops (as we call them) all the time. I also give as much as I buy as I am for ever having clear outs. My eldest son (23) has severe learning difficulties and goes through clothes quite quickly, so going to the charity shops keeps the cost of clothing him within our household budget. I know that what we do is helping these organisations and at the same time we’re all re-cycling.

  3. Thx a million for this information – I bought a great pair of pants from a local Designer Outlet – they were as cheap as chips – as we say in the UK and yes we have lots of Charity Shops and I use them on occasions and I always give my Wardrobe ‘clear-outs’ to them too. As for my pants they are now on a silk wash in my miele washing machine -

  4. just fyi The Salvation Army (or Sally Army as it is commonly known) is actually an English charity founded in East London and is now international – definatly not restricted to New York! I am surprised that it is not present anywhere else in America however

  5. By the way silk can be washed in machines, I have a skirt, I have had forever washed this way, just us the right detergent: stuff sold for wool is the answer, people don’t buy silk because they have to hand-wash it, but you don’t need to do this.

  6. Eek need to learn not to rely on spell checker, I mean’t to say ‘use’ not ‘us’!

Leave a Reply

