MAKING YOUR OWN FRAGRANCE PRODUCTS: getting bottles and ingredients

On my way to see a client, I  noticed a store with all sorts of bottles in the window. Since I make up lots of different oil blends, I am always looking for a good source of little bottles.

When I went in, I saw that this store, Gold Star Fragrances, carries all sorts of fragrance oils.  Most of these are of the famous fragrance brand names (you can  get Thierry Mugler Alien, or Philosophie Amazing Grace, for instance), but there are others to use for making up one’s own blends. They do have a few essential oils, but most of their oils seem to be of the synthetic variety.

I had planned to buy two bottles to make a calming blend and a gem elixir for a client.  I thought the price for the bottles was a little steep, but I was stunned to find out, when the clerk plopped two large plastic bags of bottles on the counter, that the quoted price was for a dozen glass bottles!

Armed with so many bottles, I came home and started to think about how to make cologne for me and  mine.

There are recipes on-line, of course!
Pioneer Thinking website has a lot of information as well as recipes.
How to Make Perfume with Essential Oils contains tips on types of fragrances as well as a basic recipe (all of this at the end of the article).
4 Ways to Make Your Own Perfume  is just that – from essential oil-based to how to use herbs and flowers.
How to Make a Natural Perfume has more thoughts.

More later!

Leave a Reply

